Introductions

I have stopped counting the number of times I have been told by friends “… you should write a book about your life…” so I figured I would started taking on board the repeating feedback and get to writing something!

The suggestion to write it all down is often the concluding piece of information added to a conversation mix with friends. Me sharing about my latest challenge, drama, annoyance, and in exchange supporting my friends through their own challenge, drama or annoyance.

I have never really considered myself unusual. In fact I am someone who usually flies under the radar.

I remember at school been called the “dark horse” after running a surprising second place at a school carnival. I was not known to be athletic and yet I had beaten most of the known fit kids. When I look at my life as a whole, “dark horse” is a label that fits well. I am a surprise package. Often under estimated, even by myself.

I don’t really think of myself as rebellious however I appreciate that from the outside, it may appear this way. I do not see myself as fearless or radical (I have allot of fear!) but again, people have made comments that this is how I appear.

Overall I think I am average on most counts with the ability to rise to excellance when the moment hits me.  Sure there are some areas that come easier to me than most, but I have always been aware of someone who did the same thing even easier again. I like this. It keeps me constantly looking further ahead. Constantly trying.

To outsiders I can be seen as reckless, dangerous, sometimes a bad influence, sometimes extreme, occasionally fearless, strong and fiercely independent (all comments I have collected in my years).  These traits come and go. I don’t think they are me all the time. I adapt. I’m a chameleon. I am what I need to be at the time.

So where do these comments arise from?

Well I have a tattoo (typical rebellion move I am told). It’s not something I parade around however it usually draws its own crowd being it is slightly visible on my upper back spanning a good 10 cm in diameter and consisting of intricate line work that draws the curious minds. Outsiders are often unaware of the fact I did it only after weeks of agonizing over the design, only to choose something the day before my booking from a magazine. Choosing or changing your mind on the design last minute is a big no no in tattoo world. Obvious risk is you choose something that you won’t be happy with 10 years from now. And outsiders don’t know that I almost fainted at the second stroke and almost didn’t get it finished because after the outline was done, I had lost all my will power to continue enduring the pain. But I did endure. Surprising even the artist doing the work.

So the permanent brand is there. It is something I am happy I endured. Something I do not regret. Something that surprises people when they discover it. Apparently I do not appear to be someone who would have a tattoo *wink* I wonder who is? *giggle*

And yes, I have a facial piercing. A nose ring. Small. Delicate. Another moment of bravery. The nose piercing was scarier for me then the tattoo. I hate needles. HATE THEM. I did it after a long relationship had ended and I was going through a period of discovering myself again (we’ve all been there). I had wanted one for years. I suddenly decided that NYE, while I was at work, was the time. I called the piercing studio and went during my lunch break. That was many years ago. I don’t regret it. It was a brief fearless moment of action. One I’m glad I finally faced.

And okay… I do prefer 2 wheels on the road instead of 4. But there is a good reason behind this (aside from my love of riding motorcycles… the wind rushing past is such a beautiful feeling)…I don’t actually have my car license (which is possible in Australia. You can have a bike license without a car license). I started on a scooter with 150 cc’s. Progressed to a 200 cc Vespa before moving away from scooters to a 650cc sports bike… however scooters are my love so I sold the sports bike earlier this year and I’m currently deliberating over a red or black Vespa. I am scooter girl. Hear me roar!

I love to feel alive.

I love the sensation of a good challenge… and for me it may hang over my shoulder for days, weeks, months sometimes even years before I muster enough inner grit to face it… but I love that.

So I am here to share my challenges, my achievements, my skills and my knowledge with the world. I want to inspire and support other dark horses around the world to step into their light and claim their place in the world.

On your marks… get set… lets go!

Leave a Reply

