Time to decide

I recently finished reading Chris Guillebeau book “The Art of Non-Conformity” and promptly bought his latest release, “The $100 Start Up” which I have been reading each day during my bus commute to the city. Below is a portion of Chris’s latest blog post which I found hugely inspiring  and wanted to share.

I write a lot about legacy projects, and what I believe is a core need to focus on what we’ll make with the our lives. The related theme to this is urgency, the need to seize the day and make our time count for something.

I’m on the road again now, meeting with fun people every night and hearing good stories of change.

It challenges me. I don’t get every talk right, and I’m tweaking as I go. There are a few things I wished I had done differently in setting up the tour.

But I made the decision, and I’m moving forward. Another day, another city. In the down time I work on other projects, always making a little progress at a time and thinking about the next thing. It’s fun, it’s worth it, and what else would I do? That’s right, nothing.

What decision to act can you make right now?

http://chrisguillebeau.com/

 

While reading “The Art of Non-Conformity” Chris’s notion of a legacy project really hit me. I suddenly realised that I was now in my 30’s and had left almost no evidence of my existence in this world. Talk about treading lightly. This was a sobering thought. I begun thinking of ways I could change this. I wanted to help people. I wanted to know that I could touch lives and help others achieve their dreams. I am still contemplating ideas about how to best achieve this but decided rather then continue contemplating it was time to just get on with it. I would try something and just see how it went. I can adjust it later or try something new.

By making big decisions recently I have felt more in control of my life and enjoyed the opportunity to exercise the decision making part of my brain  for my life. I’m going to a small workshop tonight on writing about emotions after making the decision to write more about 4 weeks ago. Even though today I am tired after sleeping poorly I am still motivated by the fact I have something new and exciting to do later today. I am glad I made the decision to enrol in the class.

About 3 weeks ago I also made the decision to quit smoking – WOOT! Admittedly I was not a “full time” smoker but I was still glad to be rid of the habit from my life.

2 weeks ago I made the decision to start this blog and explore more writing. I enrolled in a few workshops/classes that are scattered over the next few weeks to keep me motivated and inspired.

Some decisions I am still contemplating and researching. Currently the dilemma of whether or not I should commit to an MBA is forefront. I will make the decision soon and have set myself a one month time frame to research all other options.

What decisions are you delaying and why?

What decisions have you made recently that gave you a sense of empowerment?

6 thoughts on “Time to decide

  1. Wow! I feel like we’re in almost the exact same place in our lives. I have also read art of nonconformity and I am almost finished reading the $100 startup. I’m going to Chris’s book tour when he hits LA. I am also at a crossroads with whether I should pursue a Masters degree or not. I love school, but there is a lot of uncertainty right now. I really took his advice to heart, but I am also getting a lot of pressure from other people in my life to do so. I don’t want to be in debt for a piece of paper that isn’t going to necessarily help me work for myself. Does that make sense? 🙂

    • SonyaMadden says:

      LowImpactBetty – I am so thrilled to have someone working through similar decisions to me – yay! thank you for your fantastic comment and yes it ENTIRELY makes sense. As the saying goes “everyone has an opinion” so I’ve had people saying “yes, do the MBA” and other saying “don’t waste your time and money.” I attended an info evening for a MBA offered locally and really loved what they had to say but felt myself turn pale as they mentioned the work load and that basically MBA’s are recognised as they are known to be SUPER HARD in terms of managing the load. Like you, I took Chris’s advice to heart. I’m enjoying the “$100 Start up” as well although sometimes it causes me to panic as I think “Oh no, what is my product?” 😀 Say Hi to Chris for me when you meet him, as yet he is not coming to Aus.

  2. Lauren says:

    This is a great post! I am also reading the $100 Start Up and I absolutely love it. I think there is definitely a certain point when you just have to jump in and see what happens with whatever goals you might have. If one goal doesn’t work, it’s ok to move on to the next one. It sounds like you are making excellent progress in creating your legacy.

    • SonyaMadden says:

      Thank you Lauren – it is lovely to hear for you and I appreciate the encouragement with regards to a legacy 🙂 How are you finding the “$100 Start up” book?

      • Lauren says:

        I can’t put it down! It is definitely keeping me motivated to pursue blogging full time. It’s also really encouraging to know that so many people have started great businesses on small budgets.

      • SonyaMadden says:

        Heh Lauren – it is okay, we can be addicted to the book together 🙂 I read “The Art of Non-Conformity” in a weekend for the same reason…LOVED IT! Glad it has inspire you to keep on blogging – great idea!

Leave a Reply

